How Can a Sarasota DUI Affect My Out of State License?
Sarasota is known as Florida’s Cultural Coast due to its beaches and artsy culture scene it provides. With these attractions, more and more tourists are visiting Sarasota. In 2018, Sarasota County welcomed 2,726,600 visitors, according to Visit Sarasota. Although tourists consider Sarasota a place for fun in the sun, what many tourists may not know is that Sarasota is also an area high in arrests for driving under the influence (DUI). Unfortunately, DUIs happen not only to local residents, but out of state tourists and out of towners as well.
Sarasota DUI Statistics
The Sarasota Sheriff Office collects data on DUIs that occur in Sarasota County each month. For June 2019, Sarasota County experienced 67 DUIs. From January to June of this year, the County has seen 391 DUIs. The report shows that Sarasota County has more DUIs now than it did in 2018. And in 2015, a report indicated that Sarasota was the most dangerous city in Florida for DUI deaths.
Because of these shocking figures, today we will discuss an action that out of state tourists can take to handle a DUI from Sarasota.
How to Save Your Out of State Driver’s License
Let’s say you’re visiting Sarasota on vacation from Alabama, Georgia, or even the U.S. Virgin Islands. You’re driving back to your resort after having a few drinks when suddenly you’re arrested for DUI. At this point, your driving privilege is in jeopardy.
Because the State of Florida is a member of the Driver License Compact. Under Florida Statute 322.65, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is required to enter into any agreements to report your driver’s license status to the National Driver Register.
This simply means that states talk to each other and exchange information concerning your driver’s license. If your license is suspended or revoked in one state, more than likely it is suspended or revoked in another. This prevents people from gaining driving privileges in multiple states.
If you receive a DUI while visiting Sarasota, your life is not over. You must do the following:
- Hire a Sarasota Criminal Defense Attorney within 10 Days.
Because of your arrest for suspicion of DUI, you will receive an administrative driver’s license suspension in Florida. If you don’t hire a qualified Sarasota criminal defense attorney specializing in DUI matters to help challenge the suspension by requesting a formal hearing with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles within 10 days, your license suspension becomes final, even in your home state. This means you will no longer have driving privileges for a certain period of time.
In some cases, it may be in your interest to apply for a hardship license as opposed to applying for a formal hearing. If you have no prior DUIs you could possibly be eligible for a hardship license. This would allow you to be able to drive to necessary places such as work, school, and religious functions. You need to speak to a qualified DUI defense attorney to let you know what option is best for you.
- What happens if I miss the 10-day time limit to apply for a hardship license or request a formal hearing?
If you miss the 10-day time limit to apply for your hardship license or apply for a formal hearing, this will result in your license continuing to be suspended. You may still be able to apply for a hardship license after a short waiting period, depending on the facts of your specific case.
Received a DUI while in Sarasota? Call The Patricks, Your Sarasota and Bradenton DUI Attorneys.
If you received a DUI while visiting Sarasota or Bradenton, don’t hesitate to contact the Sarasota DUI attorneys at Hale Law. Don’t go home and ignore your Sarasota DUI. Let our criminal defense attorneys advocate for you in your time of need. For a free consultation, call at 941-735-4529.